top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Coffin

3 CONDIMENTS I MAKE INSTEAD OF BUY!


Since my first round of Whole 30, I have been making my own mayonnaise. Not only do I love it, but it is also easy, cheap and I can control what is in it. After re-evaluating my grocery budget and reading a great blog post about how to cut costs, I decided to explore a few others. These 3 recipes are gluten, dairy and sugar-free. They are also Whole 30 Approved!!


1. Mayonnaise– This is where I started. I haven’t found a way to make this work without an immersion blender. I read A LOT of recipes and tried and failed a few times but this is the easiest and yummiest recipe I have stuck with!1 cup EXTRA LIGHT TASTING oil (very important) 2 eggs (some use 1 large but my eggs are normally a little smaller) 2-3 teaspoons lemon/lime juice OR apple cider vinegar pinch of salt add any other flavors you want!! Put all in a jar. I use a wide mouth mason jar. Let the eggs settle to the bottom for a few minutes. Then, using an immersion blender, hold the blender all the way to the bottom of the jar for a solid 20 seconds. You’ll see the magic start to happen right away!! Then slowly pull it up (NOT OUT, that would be messy) and get all the oil mixed in. ENJOY!!! This keeps fresh in the fridge for about a week. Honestly, we often finish it before a week. TIP: Make this when you need it so you are likely to use it! I’ll make it more often in the summer for potato salad and burgers. My hubs and I don’t use it for too much else.

2. Ranch Dressing – I love Ranch!! But, my hubs and I are sensitive to dairy so I stopped buying it a long time again.  I found this recipe from the Whole Sisters and altered it a bit. I made it in a tall wide mouth mason jar as it makes a good amount. IT stores well in the same container. My herb of choice is dill! Try it and let me know! 1 cup “light” olive oil 2 eggs (some use 1 large but my eggs are normally a little smaller) 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar 1 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon pepper 3/4 teaspoon onion powder 3/4 teaspoon garlic powder 1/2 cup full fat coconut milk 1 tablespoon dried dill Blend with an immersion blender for approximately one minute! Lasts in fridge up to one week, if you still have any left!!

3. Ketchup – I found this recipe over at Holistically Engineered and have altered it to my taste. 1 6 oz jar organic tomato paste 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar 1 tsp onion powder 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1/4 tsp black pepper 1/4 tsp mustard powder 1 teaspoon salt 7 Tbsp water Place all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth (Makes 1 cup–store excess ketchup in the fridge).


Now give these a try for yourself! Let me know what you think. Do you make any other condiments? I think I would like to try more but am not sure what will be up next. Let me know if you have any ideas.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page