top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Coffin

Shopping for my favorite Super Foods in BULK!

Updated: Jul 12, 2020

My bestie brought me to this incredible spice store that is just a few towns from where I grew up. I was so excited by everything they had and walked out with some amazing bulk buys of some of my favorite foods!

Turmeric | Often found in Asian and Indian foods, Turmeric is one of my favorite spices and superfoods. Turmeric is used for arthritis, heartburn, joint pain, stomach pain, stomach bloating, loss of appetite, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), fatigue and so much more! Turmeric has a special chemical compound called curcuminoids that are some of nature’s most powerful antioxidants. It also has inflammatory properties. It is amazing! I love cooking with it, taking some with my vitamins and making a tea with the powder. After a day of “bad choices” such as lots of sugar and sweet treats, I always find myself craving a cup of Turmeric tea just before bed. Give it a try yourself,  and let me know what you think!


Cinnamon | Much more common and well-known than Turmeric, Cinnamon is another favorite in my cabinet. I actually often mix Turmeric and Cinnamon together for a very aromatic and delicious treat! Cinnamon has anti-fungal, antibacterial, and even antiviral properties. Also, like Turmeric, it as anti-inflammatory properties, but also helps reduce the rise of blood sugar after eating. I love using cinnamon on fruits, teas and anywhere I can! Because of its antiviral properties, I make sure to use a little more cinnamon when I am in more populated areas and during the winter cold season.


Raspberry Leaf | I have been drinking Raspberry Leaf tea for YEARS! Many moons ago, my menstrual cycle was super awful and painful. I begged for hormonal birth control that would make my symptoms less severe. However, my body was not fond of any hormonal birth control and I found myself with the Paraguard {a nonhormonal IUD}. I love it but then I had to figure out a non-medical way to deal with Aunt Flow. Red raspberry leaf is used for gastrointestinal (GI) tract disorders, respiratory system disorders, heart problems, fever, diabetes, and vitamin deficiencies.  Some women, including myself, use the raspberry leaf for painful and heavy periods. Many expecting moms use it for morning sickness, preventing miscarriage, and easing labor and delivery. I drink 2-4 cups a day during the beginning of my cycle and it dramatically affects both my cramping and heaviness of bleeding. Purchasing Raspberry Leaf Tea in tea bags can get pricey, so last year I dried my own leaves from my Grandma’s plants. This year, I found this massive bag that will last me a while! I highly recommend either drying your own or finding it in bulk.


Chia Seeds | I will never forget the first time my younger sister saw me drinking chia seed water. She called them “water bugs”. Now chia seeds are part of my everyday life. However, like Raspberry Leaf tea, this can get pricey. I add these seeds to my smoothies and meals to boost my fiber, protein, calcium, antioxidants, and omega-3 intake. All that goodness is in just a small amount of seeds!! Also, you can make chia seed guilt-free pudding! Who doesn’t love guilt-free treats?

The other goodies a grabbed were to help continue my effort towards a zero-waste house. The scrub sponges can be washed in the top rack of the dishwasher and the bamboo brush, well its made of bamboo, instead of plastic. The jars were a great price and super cute! I always love finding a new glass jar to replace product packaging.


Learn more about what Atlantic Spice Company on their website. I can promise you I will be visiting this store again and making purchases online when I am unable to visit.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page