top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Coffin

Why Whole 30 Worked for Me



I know, I have done 21-day fix, tried a million different diets and exercises and even just told you about my July fitness plans. Why do I need to talk more about some fad? Well, I just completed my first round of Whole 30 and am freaking ecstatic! Why? Well, let me tell you!


I feel A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! It was not hard at all. I know I lost weight!!  I have been trying very hard to avoid the scale and just focus on how I feel. I don’t miss much (other than the occasional soda water + vodka) AND I feel like this is a very sustainable lesson/experience/partial lifestyle change.


So, lets back up. What is the Whole 30?

Established by Dallas Hartwig and Melissa Hartwig (of Whole9) in April 2009, the Whole30® is our original nutritional program designed to change your life in 30 days. Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you put an end to unhealthy cravings and habits, restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, and balance your immune system.

In a nutshell, you don’t eat sugar (except those found in fruit), grains, dairy and legumes for 30 days! It’s more complicated than that but that is the quick and dirty. Why do it? Well, 95% of people lose weight and improve their body composition (which I have totally experienced). But also, people who have completed the Whole 30 have consistently high energy levels, improved athletic performance, better sleep, improved focus and mental clarity, and a sunnier disposition. I have experienced ALL of this. I am happier, I feel healthy! I haven’t gotten into any moods or had any really grumpy days, even my PMS was minimal!!

Of course, most people think, well what did you eat? Most people love their dairy and their grains and don’t get me wrong, I would really love an enchilada or a slice of GF pizza right now BUT I don’t need it and can get that satisfaction elsewhere.


Here is a sample of my meals over the past 30 days. I didn’t capture every meal and hope to get more pictures during my next round (YES – I am doing this again. YES – I would love it if you joined me)


If you want to join, I am starting a SECOND round on August 1st! I will post most things on Instagram and Snapchat. I highly suggest a few staples:

  • Whole 30 Approved Larabars really saved many days!

  • Lots of salted or raw nuts! I always had some on hand to grab.

  • Easy proteins (approved prosciutto, lunch meat, canned tuna, sausages) Just make sure they are Whole 30 approved and not full of crap.

  • Zoodles, Cauliflower Rice and Spaghetti Squash. Make your favorite meals BUT with a few small changes.

  • Remember to have patience. The first two weeks were the hardest. Tell your friends what you are doing and they will be your biggest motivators. I ate out a few times and did great! Just read the materials and feel prepared both in your mind and in your fridge BEFORE your 30 days begin.



Here are my favorite downloads from the Whole 30 website.  READ this one before you do ANYTHING else! I put these ones right on my fridge and saved them on my phone:

So, for July I am going to live by a 90/10 rule. I am going to eat 90% Whole 30 and let myself have the occasional vodka/tequila beverage mixed with seltzer only or glass of local wine. I am giving up ciders for good! I am also going to let myself have freedom at restaurants BUT obviously stay gluten free and try to pick the smartest choice. Our house will remain dairy-free and I will read many many more of our labels.


Overall I just want to make sure y’all know that there is a sustainable and delicious way to restart your health and wellness while finally changing your life for the better. Whole 30 has changed my life and I know it could change yours too! Just give it 30 days!!

2 views0 comments
bottom of page