top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Coffin

Quick + Dirty Vacation: Boston Addition

Last week I had the opportunity to take one of the newest and best friends to the city I grew up near and love dearly, Boston! Livi, my closest girlfriend here in the Northwoods, has never been to Boston, is a rural country girl and had a few fears about traveling to a “big city”. I wonder if I’ll ever get her to NYC! Here is a review of our itinerary, what awesome things we did and what Livi was most excited about!

Day 1: We left for Boston at 4:00AM! We got to our hotel just south of the city and took a quick trip to Ikea (the first of many firsts for my pal). We then took the T to South Station, walked to the Boston Common and Public Gardens and enjoyed some french macaroons from the Thinking Cup.  We walked around the commons, went on the swan boats, walked down Boylston Street, and visited the Boston Public Library. Next, we headed to the Museum of Fine Arts (which is FREE on Wednesdays after 4PM). We spent an hour there before heading back to Braintree for for dinner and drinks at Dave + Busters (another first for my buddy!). She got to meet my childhood friend Julie and play some fun games! It was a great yet very long first night!

Day 2: We headed to the city quite early and Livi got her first rush hour T experience. We got our nails done at MiniLuxe, our hair blown out The DryBar, got morning cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes and strolled up Newbury and Charles Streets before heading to the Science Museum. We had a quick visit the original Cheers, hit up some cute shops, revisited the Thinking Cup and then took to the Freedom Trail. {deep breathe} What a day!! We had an outstanding dinner at Al Dente in the North End where we both enjoyed incredible pasta, prosecco and limoncello, each got a cannoli from Modern Pastry, and then headed to Improv Asylum with the company of my mom and brother for the Main Stage show AND their Half Cocked show. I don’t think I have ever seen Livi laugh so hard! Exhausted, we headed back to the hotel and set our alarms again for another early day!

Day 3: We left for the city right after grabbing breakfast, and headed straight towards the  New England Aquarium. We spent a couples of hours there before revisiting Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall,  and enjoying lunch at the Union Oyster House with another one of my childhood friends, Jess! We strolled back towards  the Boston Common and headed to Harvard Square to visit the ivy league campus and hit up some cute and modern shops. Livi took me to Lush, a first for me! We left the city right before it started to rain. We decided to call it an early night and have drinks and apps at TGIFridays, walking distance from our hotel. We spent a few wonderful hours, enjoying each others company at the bar before indulging in some Ben and Jerry’s ice cream and calling it a night!


The next morning we left early to head back to Maine. We were the quietest we had been our whole trip!  I dropped her off with her hubby in Augusta and carried on by myself. I ran some errands and finally returned home early afternoon. I would say that was a successful 3 day trip of Boston. We got in some fun, yummy food and saw lots of sites! However, we were both super exhausted. I fell asleep at 6:30PM and quickly savored my lovely home in the woods. Although I do miss the city from time to time, I think the woods are my forever home!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page